Emacs + SVN 1.7 = Ouch

It’s only partly in jest when I say that working in IT means being annoyed most of the time.   Sometimes it feels that way.  The latest annoyance came last week: updating my Cygwin install brought SVN 1.7.  I knew about the required updating of working copies to the new format.  What I didn’t know was that my beloved Emacs version control integration would break so horribly.  I suppose this is another reason for Emacs-haters to chuckle, and I’m rarely inclined to tinker with the config or try alternative Emacs modes, so I’m basically stuck with the brokenness until a fix comes down stream.  All in a day’s work.

  1. #1 by JeremyT on October 31, 2011 - 11:01 am

    Clearly you enjoy pain, or else you would not use Emacs and Windows and Cygwin to begin with, so this is a feature not a bug 🙂

    I don’t know if you ever seriously tried Eclipse, but I find it worthwhile for anything that’s too big for vim to handle.

  2. #2 by David Chandek-Stark on October 31, 2011 - 11:15 am

    I use Eclipse for Java, but mostly Emacs for Python. It’s not a bad idea, though, since with Eclipse and Pydev I’d also get code-completion.

  3. #3 by David Chandek-Stark on December 2, 2011 - 8:47 pm

    Just updated Cygwin and SVN 1.6.17 is available through setup!