Back to Windows

I’m a little wistful about it … but I’ve returned to Windows for my primary office working environment, after a lengthy experiment with Ubuntu. I really like Ubuntu, but the challenges of using it in a Windows-centric environment (Active Directory, Exchange, etc.) just made the extra effort to adapt hard to justify.  CrossOver with Office 2007 is OK, but just annoying enough; same with Evolution and Exchange.  Dealing with Active directory shares when your OS is “not supported” is frustrating.  And Windows generally has better GUI tools, although it’s hard to say whether those benefits outweigh the vast superiority of the Linux command line.

In any case, now I have to deal again with the problems that made me want to switch to Linux in the first place — principally that it’s a much better environment for open source software development.   I may give Cygwin another try, or run Ubuntu in a VM, we’ll see.  I’m pretty attached to Emacs, and have used it in Windows, so that’s good.

It’s rainy and cold outside today …

Before wrapping this up I’m going to post how I replaced GRUB with the Windows 7 boot loader, since I found a number of variations on how to do this.  I booted to a Win7 DVD, took the repair option, deselected Window 7 from the Windows OS auto-find list (one article I read stressed this deselection; I’m not sure it really matters), clicked Next, then selected the Command Prompt.  The two commands that worked to restore the Win7 boot loader were, in order:

bootrec.exe /fixboot
bootrec.exe /fixmbr

Exit the command prompt and restart from the HD.

,

  1. #1 by JeremyT on February 4, 2011 - 4:37 pm

    Say it ain’t so!

  2. #2 by David Chandek-Stark on February 9, 2011 - 11:32 am

    Yeah, it’s sad. OTOH I’m getting deeper into Cygwin, and I think that’ll more or less satisfy my command line needs.

  3. #3 by Ziad on October 28, 2011 - 2:01 am

    I know it might be a late comment, but I just want to tell you that I have got a very good experience using VirtualBox. Not because I do any development on Windows, but my nephews use it for games. So I had to keep it in my home environment 🙂

    VirtualBox | Ubuntu-10.04 | Windows XP