A Generic context processor for Django settings

I found myself creating a number of simple custom context processors which simply return custom settings that I have added to my Django settings module (I actually keep these custom settings in my_settings.py and import then into settings.py, just to keep them separate).  I decided it was a good idea to add exception handling to these functions so that I would get a useful error message if I tried to use a particular context processor without implementing its required setting(s).  So, after some refactoring, I came up with this:

from django.conf import settings
from django.core.exceptions import ImproperlyConfigured

class SettingsContextProcessor(object):
    """
    Class for creating simple context processors that
    return one or more Django settings.
    """

    def __init__(self, *setting_names):
        self.setting_names = setting_names

    def __call__(self, request):
        extra_context = {}
        for sn in self.setting_names:
            try:
                extra_context[sn] = getattr(settings, sn)
            except AttributeError, e:
                raise ImproperlyConfigured('Missing required setting: %s' % sn)
        return extra_context

Now I can create custom settings-based context processors like this:

google_analytics = SettingsContextProcessor('GOOGLE_ANALYTICS_PROFILE_ID')
jquery = SettingsContextProcessor('JQUERY_VERSION')
jqueryui = SettingsContextProcessor('JQUERYUI_VERSION')
static_media = SettingsContextProcessor('STATIC_MEDIA_URL')
yui = SettingsContextProcessor('YUI_VERSION')
,

  1. #1 by Mark Stahler on October 5, 2009 - 8:25 pm

    Great idea but for those of us new to Django it would be nice to have a little more detail.